Follow us on:

Log in

Monday Morning Speakers 2019

Monday Speakers meetings are open to the public and free of charge. You are cordially invited to attend.

Each meeting features a speaker who covers topics of interest to those who are involved in or contemplating a job search or career change. The meeting begins with a networking session at 9:45 AM. We ask everyone to be seated by 9:55 AM so that the speaker can start promptly at 10:00 AM.

No reservations are needed. Come network with 40Plus members, other guests, and the speaker. The meeting is also an opportunity for anyone who is considering joining 40Plus to see and experience our organization.

Many of us continue our networking conversations over lunch at one of the nearby restaurants. Plan to join us.

MISSED A SPEAKER?  Video recordings for all of the recent 40Plus Monday Morning  Speakers are now available on the
40Plus YouTube Channel.

Upcoming events

    • Mon, February 03, 2020
    • 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
    • 1325 G St NW
    • 45
    Registration is closed

    A Franchise: The right option for you? 

    with Faizun Kamal, CEO of The Franchise Pros


     

    Are you tired of working for someone else and are ready to make a career change? Have you always wanted to start your own franchise business but didn’t know where to start, what to look for or how to fund it? Then this event is for you!

    Come join us as we talk about the granular details of how to look for your “perfect fit” franchise – the one that fits you and your goals. how to search from more than 3,000 franchises in the marketplace, and once you have found it, to learn more about the funding options available to you!

    Faizun Kamal, best-selling author and franchise consultant, will bring you all the information you need to know to chart a career change, armed with information on the best franchises out there as well as the various funding options to make your dream a reality.

    By the end of this workshop, you will:

    • Learn about franchise ownership as an alternate career option – to escape the 9-5, create real wealth and own what you do
    • Learn the six-step proven process to find the best franchise for you
    • Uncover the pitfalls to avoid making a costly mistake
    • Determine the best way to fund your franchise


    ABOUT THE SPEAKER:

    Faizun Kamal is a nationally renowned public speaker, best selling author and sought-after career strategist. As CEO of The Franchise Pros, Faizun coaches people nationwide on making the transition from employee to entrepreneur. Her unique style of inspirational coaching coupled with swift doses of tough love encourages clients to embrace chaos, fear, insecurity and uncertainty as doorways of opportunity. She has helped individuals find their “perfect fit” franchise based on an assessment of their personal, lifestyle and income goals. She guides clients to proactively move beyond career burnout to build a sustainable career that they love!

    Faizun’s drive to create significant life changes through entrepreneurship stems from her own personal experience as a corporate refugee. As an executive in the high-stakes, high-stress world of corporate America, she found herself living an increasingly unhealthy, unbalanced life with little time for what she really loved to do, with loved ones. In 2015, after almost a decade in corporate America, she got her break by getting laid off. Instead of immediately jumping back, Faizun began a deeply introspective journey to intentionally redesign her career, and her life. 

    Faizun received her BA in Women’s Studies and Environmental Studies from Mount Holyoke College. She holds a Master’s degree in Public Policy and a Master’s in Business Administration from the Johns Hopkins University. She is also a graduate of Stanford University’s acclaimed Social Entrepreneurship Program.

    Conversant in multiple languages, Kamal has been described as the “consummate connector”.  Coming from an unusual mix of work background (The Franchise Pros, World Bank, Johns Hopkins University and Verizon) and life experiences (growing up in Asia and Africa), she is able to see patterns in seemingly unconnected things and forge connections in the most unlikely places. 

    Connect with Faizun Kamal:

    On LinkedIn:   https://www.linkedin.com/in/faizunkamal/

    On Twitter:     https://twitter.com/faizun_kamal

    On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/faizunkamalFRANCHISE/

    “Set the world on fire by being authentically YOU!” – Faizun Kamal

    ==========================================

    Plan to join us after the meeting for networking.

    Admission is free.  

    Doors open at 9:45 for networking. The program starts at 10 AM at our location:

    1325 G St. NW

    Washington, DC


Past events

Mon, December 23, 2019 NO SPEAKER Dec. 23 and Dec. 30 ~Happy Holidays!~
Mon, December 16, 2019 Women -- and Men: Know your worth! -- with Rebecca Ahmed
Mon, December 09, 2019 25 Questions to Career & Soul - with Caitlin Magidson
Mon, December 02, 2019 Beyond LinkedIn: Help Recruiters Find You Online - with Angela Heath
Mon, November 25, 2019 Explore flexible career paths with part-time work -- with Sheila Murphy
Mon, November 18, 2019 Job Search Over 40: Identify Discriminatory Hiring & Leverage Your Experience - with Edgar Ndjatou
Mon, November 11, 2019 Elevate Your Resume and Get Interviews You Want - with Marcelle Yeager
Mon, November 04, 2019 Get Work Off Your Plate - Automate! - with Mary Sue Dahill
Mon, October 28, 2019 Volunteer Your Way to the Job You Want - with 40Plus Experts
Mon, October 21, 2019 NO SPEAKER Oct. 21 - 40Plus is MOVING to 1325 G St.
Mon, October 14, 2019 From Fired to Fabulous! - with Beth Solomon
Mon, October 07, 2019 A Franchise: The right option for you? - with Faizun Kamal
Mon, September 30, 2019 Employment Law and the Job Search -- with Benita Talati, Esq.
Mon, September 23, 2019 Business Development for Freelancers, Consultants and Entrepreneurs - with Derry Deringer
Mon, September 16, 2019 Professional Reinvention Insights with Bruce Rosenstein
Mon, September 09, 2019 Career Transition Talk with Executive Coach and Human Capital Professional Shari Davis
Mon, September 02, 2019 40Plus Closed for Labor Day
Mon, August 26, 2019 Success Stories from the Job Hunt - with Mika Yamashita, Ken Schoppmann and John Wilhelm Jr.
Mon, August 19, 2019 Strategies for Minimizing Your Time in Transition with John Wilhelm, Jr.
Mon, August 12, 2019 Job Loss and the Older Worker - with Richard Johnson, Urban Institute economist
Mon, August 05, 2019 Leveraging LinkedIn to Grow Your Visibility and Impact with Jennifer Dalton
Mon, July 29, 2019 Effective Time Management During Career Transitions -- with Terry Monaghan
Mon, July 22, 2019 Find the right franchise for you - with Faizun Kamal, CEO of The Franchise Pros
Mon, July 15, 2019 Value Up! How communicating your value elevates your career - with Carole Stizza, certified Business Life and Leadership Coach
Mon, July 08, 2019 Resilience and the Job Search, with Kimmi Cantrell of Careers in Nonprofits
Mon, July 01, 2019 Working with Humans: Using the DiSC® Approach for Stronger Relationships with Linda Howard
Mon, June 24, 2019 A Marketing Plan for Job Seekers with Francine Tolson
Mon, June 17, 2019 Networking as Adventure-Embark on Your Journey Today with Jill Marshall Annitto!
Mon, June 10, 2019 Effective Time Management during Career Transitions with Terry Monaghan
Mon, June 03, 2019 Inside the Mind of the Hiring Manager with Jim Thomas
Mon, May 27, 2019 40Plus Closed for Memorial Day
Mon, May 20, 2019 The Role of Emotional Intelligence in a Successful Job Search with Karen Sadowski
Mon, May 13, 2019 Career Search Land Mines: How to Stop Sabotaging Your Efforts and Find Your Ideal Job with Renee Emery
Mon, May 06, 2019 Set-Up a Franchise with Someone Else's $$$ with Faizun Kamal & Brian Seliber
Mon, April 29, 2019 Speed Networking: Refine Your Message and Build Your Contacts
Mon, April 22, 2019 Turning Conversations to Connections-Creating a Follow-up System with Lori Saitz
Mon, April 08, 2019 Staying Positive during your Job Search using Self Awareness with Dr. Dennis Humphrey
Mon, April 01, 2019 New Ways to Approach Financial Issues during the Job Search with Ilene Slatko
Mon, March 25, 2019 Careers in the Association and Nonprofit Sector with Jennifer Baker
Mon, March 18, 2019 The 3 Key Laws for Personal/Professional Growth with Kevin Coleman
Mon, March 11, 2019 Discover Your Brand: How to Sell Yourself for a Job by Confidently Telling the Truth with Maggy Sterner
Mon, March 04, 2019 Project Management Tips & Tricks for Managing Your Job Search with Linda Howard
Mon, February 25, 2019 The Job Search and Career Transition with Tom Morris
Mon, February 18, 2019 Making the Most of Informational Interviews with Barbara Mitchell
Mon, February 11, 2019 Finding the Job You Really Want by Marketing (Selling) Yourself! Lynn Smith
Mon, February 04, 2019 Set-Up a Franchise with Someone Else's $$$ with Faizun Kamal & Brian Seliber
Mon, January 28, 2019 Strategies for Minimizing Your Time in Transition with John Wilhelm, Jr.
Mon, January 21, 2019 Time to Consider 1099? Explore New Income Streams Through Self-Employment! with Shira Harrington
Mon, January 14, 2019 CANCELLED DUE TO INCLEMENT WEATHER & HAZARDOUS TRAVELING CONDITIONS -Finding the Job You Really Want by Marketing (Selling) Yourself! with Lynn Smith
Mon, January 07, 2019 Strengthen Your Career Confidence with Diane Kern

Empowering Experienced Professionals for Successful Career Transitions

40Plus of Greater Washington
1325 G Street, NW, Suite 500

 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202-387-1582

Don't miss job search tips and news!

Join our email list today.

privacy notice 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
/*